I feel I'm not improving how I used to. I've been playing for around 2 years now, but I took a break during last summer for some reason.

Anyways, I don't feel I'm improving or even playing good at all. All the things I do are extremely simple, any ideas on what I could do to step up my playing a little bit and make myself feel better about my playing level?

Thanks.
Patience boyo patience. I took the summer off too, and it only took me like maybe a month and i was back to my normal self. So it just takes time.
Try playing harder songs...?

Last edited by yawn at Mar 5, 2007,
dude i feel you. i've been playing for 3 year and about the same time last year was the same thing for me. so what i did was i bought a drum set so i could experiment around while my guitar playing suddenly went dry. well i got to say druming is so much freaking fun but still not as fun as guitar. when i first got the drums thats all i played for like a month or to and was worried i'd never want to play guitar again. AHH. but sure enough i got an itch to play guitar again. now i still play drums but guitar is still my main weapon. now i am more open for more bands cause i play 2 instruments.
Quote by yawn
Try playing harder song...?

I will.

And thanks guys for all the replies, keep them coming please!
i'm gonna quote the great darrel abbot of Pantera.

(From the April 07 issue of GuitarWorld)

"Finally, even when you find yourself trapped
in the deepest rut you've ever known, don't ever forget just how
good the guitar sounds. Sometimes, because you've been playing so much
it's easy to take the thing for granted. Never let this happen, dad! The next time
you think "Oh shit, this sucks,", slow down a little bit, take a step back, and
then take a look at things. Whenever I got down on my playing, I just bend a note,
shake it, and listen! What I hear sounds so great that it makes me realize that even
a rut doesn't suck!" The guitar is a killer sounding instrument, man. That's why we play