ok, I've been playing for a couple of months so far and I want to get into some effects. I play classic rock and my price range is about $100 (CAD). My question is if i should get a multi effects pedal (digitech RP80/RP50) to experiment with till i improve, or, should i get a specific pedal (wah, distortion etc.) or should i just wait till i improve to even think about getting effects. I know ive had a couple similar threads but bear with me, thanks.
Well if you have the money and you want a wah i would recomend a crybaby.
or just expirament with the distortion peda you have now.
wah's nice to screw around with, you'd probably get the most use out of it... if you go for a multi-effect, research it first. I know lots of people who end up regretting the purchase.
Well, since you don't know what you want yet, I will (heaven forbid) suggest a multi-effects. But, that's only if you don't mind spending money on something that you will never use again after about 4 months. But it is a great way to get more familiar with effects, and deciding what you will use more, and what you'll need to buy for single effects.

And also, a wah is a great thing to play around with.
President of the Guitarists Born In 1991 Club. PM blues rocker or I to join

Quote by RadioHead22
I love you greendayguitar
In a non- gay, awkward-man-hug way
Wah is one of the more fun effects, in my opinion. That'll keep you entertained for a long time, and you'll probably actually end up using it, too.
a friend of mine has a multi-effects pedal and is getting a wah pedal so instead of spending the money maybe borrowing it would be a better idea?
Yes, by all means, do that. It'll give you a great idea of which effects you like and what they all sound like. The only problem with multi-effects is that you usually pay for them.