Hey, I just started playing guitar recently (less than 1 month), and I was looking up techniques and stuff for beginners.

I'm really intimidated by all the problems that can occur with improper practice. I was reading guitarprinciples.com and they talk about muscle tension and it seems like everything you do causes muscle tension.

It talks about "Light fingers" also and one of the excercises I can't physcially do, which makes me think that I'll never be able to utilize that finger to it's full potential. It involves lifting only your fingers above the keys 1 inch and setting them back down so that you dont push the string, while keeping your other fingers imobile and relaxed. My ring finger wont phyically lift over 1/4 of an inch off the string and if it does my pinky and or middle finger go with it.

I don't want to start out teaching myself the wrong things, but it seems more like work than enjoyment to learn to play this instrument properly. Worrying about muslce tension, soft fingers, curling them properly, and tons of other things really intimidtates me. I've been practicing at least 2 hours a day and I'm pretty driven, but everything that can go wrong with improper technique is bringing me down.

Any suggestions/comment/concerns feel free to share!
dont worry bout muscel tension,just warm up doing scales n certain excercises,then jam,if it hurts take a break,dont feel intimidated,need more help just write me on here
don't worry too much about technique. Just have fun and it'll mostly just fall into place.
"There he goes. One of God's own prototypes. Some kind of high powered mutant never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die."-Duke
i'd recommend getting lessons, or at least playing with someone who knows how so they can make sure your not making major mistakes,
my gear:
gibson les paul classic
epiphoen les paul standard
fender standard fat strat
peavey valveking 112
boss me-50
crybaby original wah