I could get a used Gibson SG Faded for $250. It is in good condition and would come with a seymour duncan pickup. Should I buy it or get a brand new epiphone sg? I think $250 sounds like a great deal but I don't know much about spotting deals and I am kind of new to the guitar so what do you think? Thanks in advance!
Get the Gibson my friend. If it's in good condition it's totally worth it. Just check the headstock and neck joints for any cracks and if that's good then get it in Bargain.
Ibanez PGM301
Ibanez GRG170DX
Fender Telecaster MiJ - 1986
Swing T-Through

Ibanez TS9DX
Sovtek Small Stone - c.1985
EHX Big Muff
Kimbara Wah - c.1974
Boss GE-7

Orange Rocker 30 Combo

http://www.myspace.com/paythelay
That is a good price for a Gibson but the Faded series doesn't really have a great reputation. If the Epiphone SG is the G-400, then try it out as well coz it is almost as good as the Gibson, but if it's not a G-400 then go for the Gibson
Get a G-400 from Epi. I had an SG Faded I received in trade and I had it sold in a week. Felt and looked cheap. Frets were lousy.
try both out. see which one feels nicer to play. get that one. Don't buy a Gibson just because of the name. they have very poor QC. It could be one of the nicest guitars every made or it could be a piece of poo.
I realize I am a newbie around here but I have recently bought an Epi LesPaul and Epiphone has made alot of upgrades since there 'older' days. This one sounds great and plays as good as a Gibson in my opinion. I would check out the Epi before I bought the SG, you may be suprised at how well they play and sound now.
My friend had a Faded Sg..he also was a retard and piad 700+ for it. But in my opinion, the fadeds arent all that nice. Plus, if whoever had it before put a seymour duncan in it, theres a chance it could screw up if he put it in himself and didnt know what he was doing.
g400> faded

i was in the same situation and i played and researched both for a few weeks and made my choice. G400