Page 1 of 2
why is every one so hell bent on lessons? I mean, it's proven that you can learn on your own, and it's not that difficult. almost every single thread I see in here from newbie people every one's like "get lessons" but why? I mean, I've been playing for 7 years and I've had one lesson....one....and from what people tell me, I'm good. so my question to you is: why is every one so dead set on beginners getting lessons?
"there is a man...
playing a violin...
and the strings...
are the veins in his own arm."
i dont know ive bn playing for a couple of years and i still dont want a lesson, neither did hendrix and same for me
Quote by JamieB
Because all TRUE GUITARISTS know what PLUGINCHILD looks like, DUUUUH!

I want it now, and i want you NOW! give me your heart and your soul!
hmmm...... i've had three lessons, one the guy taught me the basics then never turned up for another. the second teacher i had taught me metallica's whisky in a jar and i just thought, well, if i'd wanted to learn that song then i could have done.

lessons are useful for beginners because they put you on the right lines, but to be honest i still think dont think you need a teacher. everything you need is on the internet or failing that, i knew a guy who taught himself everything with absolutely no help, he didn't know any chords so he just put together things he thought sounded good. he's just surreal to watch.

each to their own though
Some people just learn better when they've got aomeone directing them. Plus is does help to have some one tell you when A: your just doing it wrong and B: how to improve

works for me anyway
Hendrix was born into a very musical family, he understood music long before he ever picked up the guitar. The point is you've been playing for seven years and you're only "good" chances are with lessons you would have been a hell of alot better. Post a recording and we'll judge how good you are :P