Hey, I am new around here and a total noob to playing the guitar. I have been playing less than a week. I am a little undecided on what style I am going to presue but right now I am playing classic rock. I am set to start taking lessions tomorrow. I want to get the basics down first. I just wanted to see what you all think about my gear and if I should switch anything as I have time to exchange it. I went with a standard Strat (black as if that matters) and a Peavey Bandit 75 (it was used and has to be almost as old as I am, 23). I am pretty pleased with the sound on the Bandit for the $140 I paid for it. Did I make good choices? I know I am going to want to upgrade my guitar or buy a second in the future. I would like to learn some A7X and similar. Just wanted some opinions on the gear, mostly the amp.
Well after doing some research it turns out that it is really a Squire Strat not a Fender. It seems like these are very cheaply made. Looks as if there is a lot of plastic parts that will be prone to breaking. What sort of longevity should I expect out of this guitar? Should I go ahead and return it and get something a little better? I like to buy something that will last me a while w/o a lot of fuss. Looking at an Epiphone Les Paul Studio.
Last edited by Immortal_Hero at Mar 7, 2007,
well dude....squire will last if you take care of it. But it all depends on how the guitar feels to you and the sound you want. If you want an Avenged sound your going to need some humbuckers....so I personally would go for the Epiphone. But I'm not you....go play it and decide. I really would play them both and decide which one feels better. But I would think the Epiphone would be better quality.

As for your amp....your in good shape for now. Its not like you need something amazing if your only playing once a week.