Alright, so I've been playing for about 2-3 years and I think it's time for me to buy a new amp. Right now, I have a Crate FXT 15, Boss Metalzone pedal and a American Fender Strat(I changed the bridge pickup to a Duncan Hot Rails.) As the title says, I'm looking for a metal amp. I play prog metal and I want a nice, heavy tone(think Necrophagist) but I also need the amp to be able to produce a good clean sound(think some of Opeth's stuff, especially Damnation) as well because I change up sounds within my songs. My price range is around $500-$750 and I've already thought about the B-52 AT-112 60-Watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp, Traynor Custom Valve 50 Blue and both the F series and DC series for Mesa Boogies. Any thoughts on the amps I've mentioned or any suggestions of what to buy would be great, thanks.
GMO INC.
shoooo this is tough. enough gain to make a hott rails metal, but nice cleans.

i'd say mesa dc combo, or peavey XXX.
Quote by ClassicAxe

consider anything derek suggests, He IS a gain VVhore you know
Quote by jj1565
derek, will you go out wt me?

President Gain Whore -group on profile
Wow, I kinda feel sorry for you, cuz, despite you posted the ever-popular "I need a new fillintheinstrument" thread, you didn't word it half bad, and yet no one bothered to dignify you with a response.

I'm a little partial, but definately try to get a used Mesa off ebay for your amount, and a lower wattage F or DC would be a great choice. Because, honestly, those other amps probably aren't gunna cut it without a lot of outside help, like a lot of preamp push. You might not find exactly what you're looking for with the Mesa for months, but don't worry, when you find it you'll never turn back.

And if you really wanna play that heavy of metal, dude, maybe it's time to dump the strat while you're at it too?
1992 Gibson Explorer (Seymour Duncan '59 neck, Custom Custom bridge)
Jackson King V Professional Std. (Seymour Duncan Invaders)
Mesa/Boogie Nomad 55