Okay, so I'm a beginning guitarist... a couple of years ago a fooled around a bit with some acoustic FirstAct guitar for a couple of weeks, looking back I felt like I wanted to take up guitar again, so I bought a bundle off of zZounds that includes a Squier Stratocaster, an amp, and various other doodads.

Right now I'm just looking around on this and other sites trying to memorize Coheed and Cambria tabs, playing some normally-written stuff at beginner level, chords, blah blah blah. Basically I'm fairly new to the guitar... however, I feel I need a different amp. I'm into taking my gear around and playing at friends houses and stuff, and this Squier SP-10 I have isn't exactly great for that... it's got the chord dangling off of it and it's kind of a lame amp... it's got knobs for treble, bass, and volume, along with a little pitch changer thingy that changes it from "clean" to a grittier rock filter.

So yeah, I'm looking for a new amp. I was thinking the Vox DA5 because you can store the adapter in the back, and it can be battery powered, it's light, small, packs a punch, comes in different colors, and it's durable. All of the things I need, plus, it has more fancy effects, which are always a plus.

So, how much would I be able to sell this lightly used Squier SP-10 for to the music shop, and also, would you recommend the DA5 for my situation?

(By the way, I'm also looking for a new case and strap for my guitar, so any input on that would be awesome too. I'd like a nice padded strap, I've seen one that has a ska checker pattern but I don't know the name. Also... the Fender Strat/Tele hard case... worth it or not?)
i dont think any music shop will take that SP 10 even if u give it to them for free. Im serious
The DA 5 is good and also check the roland microcube