I started playing electric 6 months ago. About 6 weeks ago I decided to also get an acoustic, and bought a Yamaha FG730S. The strings have gone a bit dead, so it's time to get some new ones. I'm just after a little advice.

My electric has 9-46 strings. With these, I have no problems barring, but on the acoustic, which I'm told are 12's, I'm struggling. My question is, should I go something like 10-47 (similar to my electric), persevere with 12's, or compromise with say 11-52's? My action is a little high, so lighter guage hopefully wouldn't need a truss rod adjustment, although I guess intonation may be a problem.

Secondly, I was looking at D'Addario strings, but do coated strings really last 3-4 times longer than standard ones, or is it just a marketing thing?

Do any make/type of strings suit the Yamaha FG730S better than others?

Any other advice appreciated.

Oh, one more quick one. To get the peg thingies out, is it just a case of gripping and pulling, or do you have to cut the strings, then push them from the inside.

Thanks.
play 12s, it makes your fingers stronger (I shit thee not) and, when you put 11s on an acoustic guitar, i think it sounds like absolute shit
persevere, yes, no

Gear:
Partscaster/Tele into a bunch of pedals, a Maz 18 head, and a Z Best cab.
Some coated strings last for so long, sometimes they are worth it, and sometimes they aren't. If you get the right brand (I don't know what brand it is wait for someone else to say) but they don't go dead for months.

Also, use .12's because they make your fingers stronger, it's sort of a thing like, you play acoustic for a while with .12's, your fingers get stronger and it becomes easier to play. Then when you go to electric its like "Woah, this is so easy to play!"

So yes, you should stick with .12's and get used to them.
ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ

Quote by Xp3ns1v3
I thought it was illegal for women to use the internet.
Stick with the 12's, you'll get used to them and they have a fuller sound.