I looked up the lessons on the site, but when I tried to read some of the stuff, I couldn't understand it.
Words like interval, diatonic, and other music vocabulary.
Are there any books on where I can learn more into these kinds of things? I should probably buy a book on reading sheet music and such, or some kind of guitar basics book.
Do you guys recommend any books?

I've been learning guitar for 3 years now, but I don't think I've really learned anything except power chords and how to read tabs. I'm hoping to get more serious in playing guitar and ultimately I want to be able to know what I'm doing, I mean not just playing what I see and not understanding it. But actually read music, and "get" it. Maybe get into music theory even.
I'm hoping to get more practice in my spring break.
some advice would be great.

PS:
What's the difference between the Gibson SG and the Fender Telecaster other than price and cosmetics?
I get the feeling the SG is more for rock and the telecaster has a bluer kind of sound, maybe even Britpop kind of sound?
Last edited by RockettBoy at Mar 11, 2007,
we're kinda in the same boat, i've been playing for a few years, and i havent taken lessons, so im not huge on theory, but i found a musical dictionary type site for you, try this:
http://www.music.vt.edu/musicdictionary/
hope that can be of some help.

as for SG/Tele differances, pickups are a big differance in the two, as well as body woods. i dont own either, so i cant really get "in-depth"
... For A Pair Of Brown Eyes

Quote by Bladez22
smoke, you get more awesome by the minute..... You have an epic beard, live near woods, listen to metal, grill stuff using makeshift bbqs out of old cans, and now we find out you have stabbed someone in the dick
Fretboard logic, find it at any bookstore or guitar center.
Or you could read the beginning theory lesson in the lessons section.