Alright, so my playing progression has kind of slowed down. I've been playing guitar for a couple months now, and I think I've learned most of the basics. I've got a couple songs down, and basic techniques etc. I can sight read tab decently. But now I don't know where to go. I want to learn more. I am going to start learning scales slowly. Right now I am trying to learn one standard box formation for each scale learn then build up memorize more boxes. Any suggestions on what else I should learn to progress my playing? Please, no sweep picking etc. I'm not read for that stuff just yet. Should I just continue learning scales, a few songs, etc.
Be cool.
Yeah, continue practising scales and learning challenging songs (you won't get anywhere playing songs at the same sorta level for ever). Also, do a quick search of the articles on here, check out any warm-up/practises that look useful to you.
Feel free to ignore my ranting.

Member of the Self-Taught Club.

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
Quote by Strat_Monkey
Yeah, continue practising scales and learning challenging songs (you won't get anywhere playing songs at the same sorta level for ever). Also, do a quick search of the articles on here, check out any warm-up/practises that look useful to you.

thanks.
Be cool.
I've found that when I'm stuck on something, I start practicing songs that are a bit above my current skill level. Then I get frustrated by my mistakes and go back to the ones I played before, which will by now have become easier. With the confidence boost I get from this, I decide to practice the harder songs some more and then when I get stuck on those, I take another step up in difficulty. Then when those are starting to bug me, I'll take a step back, and the hard-ish ones from before will now also have become easier...