Alright, so I sold my spider 2 75W, which I used along with a boss MT-2.

I am buying a tube amp later this week, but I'm afraid clean tubes won't give me the gain I am looking for. I hear all this talk that in order to play metal with a tube amp, you need an OD pedal NOT a distortion pedal. How does this work? Because that sounds pretty contradictory. Also, any suggestions for pedals/amps will be appreciated. My maximum spending is about $600.

currently looking into:
peavey XXX (if I can find it)
Peavey Valveking
Ashdown fallen angel (if I can find it)

especially with the valveking, I heard the gain is not that great. Would different tubes and a different speaker help? Or just an OD pedal...

I play metal, mostly very high gain stuff. Think Kataklysm, children of bodom. Every now and then I also play more classy stuff, like metallica or sonata arctica.

I am a noob when it comes to tube and distortion, so I apologize if I sound dumb in any way. Appreciate the advice!
WTLTL 2011
Last edited by Mark G at Mar 12, 2007,
Your in the right direction with the XXX.

I thought it was pretty good for metal, but that was about it. It was kinda one dimensional.

I didn't mind the Valveking, but it sounded sort of mushy. I don't know if it would do metal if you're looking for a nice tight type of gain. An OD would probably help this.

I tried the Ashdown Fallen Angel at a store recently, and found out that it was a relitavely low gain amp, so an OD pedal would be necessary.

Hope I helped
Well, some people will say that you can use both pedals with both types of amps. I use both with a tube amp, and get great results. I have a valveking, and the gain isn't exactly amazing. But I haven't found a way to make my OD work well with my gain channel, without feedbacking and creating horrible sounds. I reccomend the XXX over the valveking, but any of those three is a decent choice.
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass