I am using a pick that looks like a teardrop and is very hard. Like it doesnt bend... and alot of people that i know (that play guitar) said u shud use a pick that bends...(ex:a dunlop .88 mm). They said it would be easier for me... but I have been using the same kind of pick i have now since i started playing guitar and im not sure if i should change to the picks they are talking about.

Any suggestions/opinions are greatly appreciated

I suggest picking (haha, picking) up a bunch of different styles of picks, thin, thick, and in between, and see what works best for you. It's all a matter of taste. I like thicker picks, but some like thin. Also, different sizes and materials will give you a different tone. So keep that in mind.

EDIT: And welcome to UG. It's a pretty sweet place.
It's all personal preference really. If you like what you have keep it. For some reason lots of people like thin picks which just snap back and forth and are extremely annoying to me. But I hate hard picks so I used the Fender Mediums. Recently I got turned onto the Dunlop Jazz III's which are 1.38mm or s/t like that...But I love them. They're horribly thick and yet so small it would take forever to get used to and they dont' lie when they say you won't want to switch back. That's just my pick, use what you're comfortalbe with, expierment w/different ones. and pick out your favorite.
Good luck!
Quote by noah22791
Fender is bringing out a model called a Stratocaster

and Gibson is bringing out something called a Les Paul.

LOL HAHAHAHA...I thought it was funny....
Whatever works. My guitar teacher uses similar picks to what you descired. The small red jazz ones.
And before he died, Taran-Ish had scrawled upon the altar of chrysolite with coarse shaky strokes the sign of DOOM.
the people telling you to change don't know anything. It's all about personal preference. If you like the tone you're getting with thick picks, tell them to **** off.