Page 1 of 2
When you first started playing guitar, did you start with or change to expensive gear in short amount of time? (Within a year)
What are the pros and cons of starting with expensive gear as a rookie guitarist?

Thanks!
PS. When I say expensive I mean around $2,000+ USD on guitar and amp.
Not I.

I've been using the same $200 worth of guitar and amp for nearly three years =(
oh i wish.

i got a crappy starter kit. learned on that, and then saved hard and bought a nice guitar when i was ready to move up.

alot of people who start out on 2 grand guitars and stuff, dont tend to appreciate it as much, and dont have really know whatthey want to play or what they want in a guitar

beginners can barely even notice the difference imo.
Don't you know, I'm the end of what will be?
i dont think any1 has started with expensive gear, i still got my £120 guitar but man is it bautiful. Sometimes you just get lucky with these budget guitars. I would not recommend buying expensive gear because u may nt want 2 play anymore, or you want different type of equipment eg you buy a metal style amp but after playing for a year you decide you want to play more funk or jazz so you need a more suited amp for cleans. So wait a year on budget equipment then improve your gear.
Quote by dingo356
So wait a year on budget equipment then improve your gear.
How 'bout three? :-/
this guy i kno has a $2000+ Ibanez, hes been playing for a few months and he only knows like 2 RHCP songs. I started on a crappy squier.

The truth hurts, but denial is what kills you.

Member #2 of the Fight Club Clan.
PM AndrewSchaeffer to join.
I started out on a halfway decent fender acoustic that I have yet to upgrade because I love it so much. But as far as electric goes, got a super shitty squire after a year of playing the acoustic, played the squire for a year, then I upgraded the guitar and amp, and have bought a couple other guitars in the 2 years since.