So lately ive been on this streak of trying to push myself as hard as i can to become a better guitarist. Its been going well, getting those jams where when you put down the guitar and your like man i feel alot better, almost like you can feel the progress you made. Until today, i picked up my guitar, did my warm ups and jammed a few tracks and then just sat there trying to find what to play. Im at a loss and i need some advice. Im a metal guitarist (not that good thou) i play mainly 3 inches of blood style guitaring but i find im not playing what i want to play. How can i make the transition from stuff thats a bit thrashy like 3ib to stuff like kamelot and luci trilli.
is there any songs or bands that you all could suggest to help a good transition. my solo'ing skills are still minimal at best lol but rhytmic is well.

Also on a side note i was think of looking for sorta a mentor guitarist, like finding a band to learn multiple songs from to try and grasp thier guitar styles. Is this a good idea? or would it be better to keep my play styles diverse?
I have the same problem dude. some days i play, n i feel ive done my 3 years of practice the justice it deserves, n other days i feel like smashin my guitar over somones head. To be totally honest, if youre still a mediocre player, (in my opinion) you should be trying to seek out a style of your own... a lot of the best players jus tw*t around on their guitars until they find somthing they like, n then they roll with it. As for the soloing skills, i know exactly how u feel. in my situation, i was in a band as the rhythm player, and when we went our seperate ways, i carried on as strictly rhythm...now tho, my old band want to get together again, n im being shoved forward for lead work (our old lead guitarist moved away) but i know im no way good enough. with practice tho, things will get better.. anyway i digress lmao. find a style of ur own, that u feel comfortable n happy with.