So lately ive been on this streak of trying to push myself as hard as i can to become a better guitarist. Its been going well, getting those jams where when you put down the guitar and your like man i feel alot better, almost like you can feel the progress you made. Until today, i picked up my guitar, did my warm ups and jammed a few tracks and then just sat there trying to find what to play. Im at a loss and i need some advice. Im a metal guitarist (not that good thou) i play mainly 3 inches of blood style guitaring but i find im not playing what i want to play. How can i make the transition from stuff thats a bit thrashy like 3ib to stuff like kamelot and luci trilli.
is there any songs or bands that you all could suggest to help a good transition. my solo'ing skills are still minimal at best lol but rhytmic is well.

Also on a side note i was think of looking for sorta a mentor guitarist, like finding a band to learn multiple songs from to try and grasp thier guitar styles. Is this a good idea? or would it be better to keep my play styles diverse?
Trivium, All That Remains, Guns N Roses, PANTERA, Black Label Society, Anything by Paul Gilbert, Alice In Chains. Whatever you like dude
Stoecker
Also on a side note i was think of looking for sorta a mentor guitarist, like finding a band to learn multiple songs from to try and grasp thier guitar styles. Is this a good idea? or would it be better to keep my play styles diverse?

heres the thing with this, its ok to start out like this, but then you'll start sounding like slash, van halen, hammett, not that these are bad people to sound like but these guys are already on the scene. i recommend listening and taking as "mentors" a WIDE variety of musicians, some of my personal mentors include Paul Gilbert, Kirk Hammet, Dimebag Darrell, Mozart, Beethoven, BB King and Eric Clapton. Good luck to ya!