K I'm usually in the guitar thread, so I'm not known here, and no I am not a "n00b" lol...I'm just not really knowledgable about bass. K so anyway five years ago I started playing guitar and 2 years ago I started bass, anyway make a long story short I got bored of bass, but I really wanna get back into it, I was pretty decent plus I just got asked to join a band. So yeah, this is where you guys come in...

I need a new bass and a new bass amp... please try to keep it under $500.00 if thatss not possible than try to keep it around there....cause I'm buying a PA really soon so I'm not exactly going to be rich lol right now I'm playing a Squier P-Bass from a pack and it came with a Fender Rumble 15...so yeah lol pretty damn shiitty so please help me out...lol

Thanks in advance for suggestions.

Oh and I play punk music if that helps
Quote by lobster624
"are you an angel because i have an erection."
I'd just go with getting a new amp. The Squier P-Bass, albeit basic, isn't too bad in my opinion. Until you get into some harsher sounding stuff, it's probably quite adequate for anything you'd be doing. I'm much like you (guitar 4-5 years, bass for 2) and I'm still quite happy with it, and I've played both band practices and gigs with it before.
Main Gear:
Cort G-Series 254
Takamine EG345C 12-String
Fender Squier P-Bass

Peavey Classic 50
Laney HCM65B

$75 Junk Drums w/ B8 Hats/Crash/Ride
^^ yeah I was sorta thinking the same thing, I really do not mind the tone out of it...so any suggestions for amps maybe $200-400? good tone lol

oh and another question, to gig, about how many watts would a bass amp need to be loud enough
Quote by lobster624
for bass amps, i'd look at some ashdown mags, fender rumble 100 is okay, fender bassman's are good, try and get the fender bassman 250 watt one if your gonna get a fender but i like the ashdowns, 300 watts.