K so I was thinking...I play on my cousins Squire strat that he got one christmas and never used. It sat in my uncles house for probably 3 years without being touched. When I started playing guitar 3 months ago it was given to me. Point is, ive been dying for a new guitar, because the guitar never really looked good to me, imo the pickups arent very good and the strings are kinda messed up.

So I was thinking, rather than buy a new guitar, would it be better to just buy new strings, fretboard cleaner, and a new pickup (probably a Seymor Duncan single coil and smack it on the bridge)? With this upgrade I would keep using the guitar for at least another year, it would sound better and only cost be about 100 dollars, rather than buy a 300 dollar agile guitar or a cheap Les Paul type. Furthermore, I could always just remove the pickup and put it on another guitar when I choose to buy one.
well what kind of amp do you have because a good amp can make the shittiest of guitar sound better.
Gear:
Epiphone SG Vintage
Digitech RP 100A
Kustom Quad 100 DFX
Washburn D10S Deluxe (electric acoustic)
yeah seriousy get it tuned up like see if the neck needs to be adjusted change the strings if it had been sitting for 3 years get new strings make sure it is in spec and see how it goes and like the other guy said what kind of amp cause i ahd a ad ne and my guitar use to be no fun to play till i got a new one
You can always buy a seymour duncan humbucker, and put it in with some simple hacking of the pickguard, thats what my friend did to his Fender Strat.
FOR AWESOME HANDWOUND PICKUPS, CONTACT CorduroyEW
BOOBS
Quote by ratmblink123
Good for you. Have a cookie.

But really... there's no cookie. And if there was, you wouldn't get one.
The best thing you could do is get the guitar setup and then start saving for an amp.
Ibanez PGM301
Ibanez GRG170DX
Fender Telecaster MiJ - 1986
Swing T-Through

Ibanez TS9DX
Sovtek Small Stone - c.1985
EHX Big Muff
Kimbara Wah - c.1974
Boss GE-7