I'm a self taught musician and I'm looking to learn a few guitar solos to help with my speed. You guys are always pretty awsome with your advice so I thought I would ask here: What are some of the solo's that are recommended to learn first, or what solo did you learn first?

Thanks in advance!
Andrew
1979 Gibson Les Paul Silverburst
James Tyler Variax JTV89
Schecter C1 Classic
Ibanez RG520QS
Greg Bennett Torino TR4

Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier
GSP1101 & Pod X3 Pro
Peavey 5150 & JSX
Bugera 6262 & 333XL
Carvin V3
Spider Valve HD100
learn solos that will help you gain speed learn to alternative pick first even if the solos arent fast as hell learn then and it will help and try to learn some musical therory it helps sooo ****ing much
*Guitars*

Fender Standard Strat

Ibanez DT155

Ibanez RG2EX1

*Amps*

Peavey Classic 50

*Effects*

Boss MT2 Metal Zone

Danelectro Fab Chorus

Danelectro Fab Flanger
My first solo was Smells Like Teen Spirit, but you could learn the November Rain solo, not to easy, not to hard and sounds awsome.
And i also recommend you to learn scales, start with the pentatonic ones.
My current rig:
Samick Strat
Epiphone Les Paul
Vox DA-5
Samick 80 watts amp (Doesn't sound good though)
Zoom 505
Boss DS-2
:stickpoke
Highway to Hell by AC/DC...Smells Like Teen Spirit is TOO easy, you don't learn much about soloing from it whereas Highway to Hell teaches you loads for such a short solo.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Try this website:
http://www.theorylessons.com
they help out alot. Go through the beginner lessons. Im self taught too and its really easy to understand how he words everything. Learn the pentatonic scales and just make sure you go slow so you understand everything thoroughly. Also, just as the person before me said, learn to alternate pick.