Ok...now I've been playing over a year now so I probably should already know this but seeing as I'm self taught it's inevitable that I'm going to run into a few obstacles along the way, particularly with no teacher to lead my away from the wrong technique.

Warning, this isn't the shortest post in the world but bear with me...

Anyway, my problem centres around barre/power chords mainly and it is all down to the thumb position or, to be more precise, the angle in which the thumb is pressed against the back of the neck.

Now, I know how to play barre chords to a decent standard etc and things started off fine but in the last few months I've noticed that when playing them for a sustained amount of time (particularly with chord progressions around the 1st, 2nd and 3rd frets) not only my thumb came in for a lot of pain but the whole area between the thumb and index finger was giving me a lot of grief. I initially put this down to changing string gauge (from .009s to .010s) but after the pain not subsiding at all I figured that it was probably something to do with the way my thumb was pressed against the neck.

Last night I altered my thumbs position so the tip area of the thumb was pressed against the neck as opposed to the main 'base' (for want of a better term) of the thumb as I was doing before. And bingo, the pain went...but that's not really the end of the problem.

You see, I'm still confused as to what angle the thumb should be positioned at when it's pressed against the neck. I've started doing it at a similar angle to the one shown in the bottom picture but this position is hard to maintain when doing barre and power chords at the higher frets in which the angle in the first picture is more comfortable (which was also a similar angle to the one I was adopting whilst experiencing the pain) around higher frets.