Hi
I've been playing guitar for a few months now. At first I only played a few open chords (E,A,G,D etc...).
After a while I started with riffs from songs I listened to. It was fun at first but something was definitely missing.
For one, I could never get the rhythm properly from reading tabs. Secondly I felt like I was just copying other guitarist's styles, rather then experimenting and actually playing the guitar.

I then took lessons from a teacher, at which point all he gave me were scales. scales and more scales.
When I questioned him as to why I was doing them until the cows came home, he said that they would help me play faster.
He also mentioned that theory wasn't important for someone at ''this stage of guitar playing''.
Now I'm not sure if this form of teaching is common with all guitar instructors, as this is my first foray into the world of guitar playing.

Now I'm all for getting better, I just would like to understand the technical aspects behind these scales I bleed myself over.
This goes for the rest of the guitar in general, as I'm looking to see how it works and not just how to ''play faster''.

My question: Is 4 months too soon to be starting theory? Or should I wait at least until I can play more profficiently? (A year of playing, maybe more?)
yeah id say a year. once uve got the tech skills to use em. for my first year i started with just riffs and learning songs. after that i asked my teacher if he could teach me some theory stuff n its gone real well (learnt the modes and how to improvise well with em to start off)
Quote by Charlatan_001
Uh-oh. People might mistake you for a homosexual if you buy a purple pedal.

Quote by Shredlet
You own an Rg2570E and you live in Australia I to you sir!
there's no reason you can't start now. I wish I started practicing scales a lot earlier then I did, I'm sure I would be a lot better now.