I've been saving money for a while now, still don't have quite what I need, but I want a nice halfstack that is good for metal mixed between Atreyu and Killswitch sounds.

I also want a nice clean channel for jazz, blues etc.. But mainly for metal.

I was thinking of Marshalls, which at first I thought was the best period, or a Randall, or a Crate (which I heard have been really good the past few years. I don't want something over 1,500$ please help?
well

your 1500 USD might get off with a Mesa Boogie Single Recto (not sure though)
but if you're going Marshall then maybe a DSL or a TSL might do...
Randalls might be good to but Crates... I have no experience with them...

other amps:

Peavey - 5150/6505, JSX
Marshall - TSL50, DSL50
Mesa Boogie - Mark IV

^^

yes Peavey's are good for metal if we're talking about the 5150/6505 which EVH used...
which has a lot of gain on it...

if you're wondering what does a Mesa Boogie sounds like then listen to some Metallica
songs within the Black Album to Reload that'll give you an idea of what a Mesa Boogie
sounds like...
6505+ foo'

hands down.
Gear:::

Schecter C1 Classic - drop C - .11's
Ibanez rg321 (emg 81/85) - drop D - .10's
----------------------
Peavey 6505+
Peavey XXX 412 cab
Crate VTX212b Combo - practice amp.
----------------------
ibanez TS9

Quote by FretZippy21
Peavy's are good for metal? I always thought they were best for clean? And I've heard a lot about Mesa Boogie, but have no clue what it is or how it soudns