I've been playing for a couple years now and have been only learning the pentatonic scale which i've memorized and am able to imporovise on it now. Anyways I was wondering what other types of scales should I be learning because there are so many (lydian, iolean, mixolydian).

I basically wanna learn scales based on songs by Guns n Roses, MCR, and anything rock related.

Any suggestions or should I just stick with pentatonic??

Thanks.
most bands use pentatonics, but if you learn the major scales and all their modes you'll be fine
As for Guns N Roses, Slash didn't actually use scales. He never learned them. He just played what came natural to him.
Quote by Dirtydeeds468
People don't like Dave Mustaine because he created something that owned Metallica in just about every single aspect of thrash metal.

it's true
Quote by Stop Messin'
As for Guns N Roses, Slash didn't actually use scales. He never learned them. He just played what came natural to him.

no, slash definitely uses pentatonic scales...its a proven fact if you read any article mentioning him or interviewing him...
expansion is always good , i've only been playing a year and know the pentatonic[major and minor], ionian, dorian, phrygian, and aeolian but i can't really solo awsome off them yet , but time will bring that , ya,.. why would you not want to expand your scale knowledge? and if you improvise well off a scale you can be sure it will always have a nice melodic output , vs. not so if your not sticking to a scale.
shnaps i own sorta:-steinberger spirit
-ol' samick strat replica
-harmony acoustic of some sort
-ibanez pro bass

amps:-2 micro cubes
-peavey rage 158
-gorilla somethin
-ol' danelectro
-crate bass amp
Quote by epiphonist13
no, slash definitely uses pentatonic scales...its a proven fact if you read any article mentioning him or interviewing him...

or if you just listen to his music maybe?? pick a song any song!!
"so did you do anything hardocore today?"