Hey, I've been playing guitar for 3 years now and although I'll definitely keep it my main instrument, I've been thinking I might want to start picking up another. So I ask of you, how hard is the transition from guitar to say... an orchestra instrument? Like cello, or double bass. I'm mainly wondering about bowing.
I haven't tried, but honestly it shouldn't be too much harder. Using a bow is just a different way of making the string vibrate, and you should be able to adapt to that quickly.

The only thing I can see which might be a problem, is proper intonation and fingering techniques, as they lack frets. I wouldn't view that as a problem actually, think of it as a learning experience, it'll greatly enhance your ear.
I'm not worried about the fretless-ness too much, more so about how hard it seems to try to bow the two middle strings without hitting the outer ones.
I believe you can get Double Bass instruments which have marks on the neck to indicate the frets, but no fret wire. This would be good for learning I suppose... I have a friend who played the violin, who used to mark the neck with a soft, dry chalk to mark the notes.

And as for the bow thing, the strings are at different heights (Well, the bridge is curved, so the strings are at equal heights, if you know what I mean) so I imagine using a bow wouldn't be too difficult either.
Since playing guitar I've tried various other instruments and it doesn't really make it easier you just feel as though you should be doing better because you are an accomplished guitarist and then just give up, lol.

Bodacious Bob

Schecter Omen 7 Extreme
Ibanez RGR08LTD BK
Behringer TU-100
EHX Metal Muff
Boss MT-2
GLX EQ-100
Marshall VS15

Quote by tpot06
Bodacious bob wins all.
Quote by ridder
if you can read music - sweet as...

Yea I can read music. But sweet as what? Lol, I sound like a dumbass, but I don't get what you were about to say.