Okay. So I've been playing guitar for going on 11 years. I started with a Crate GX15 (1x8, 15-watts) , used that for about 2 years. Sold that off and got a Peavey Backstage (1x10, 40-watts). I've been stuck using that same Peavey all these years.

I'm finding myself desperately looking to upgrade to something nice. I'm all of my reading and research thus far, I've discovered the following.

- UG users seem to be heavily biased towards tubes over solid states models.
- UG users seem to hate Line 6 more than anything ever.
- UG users seem to discount the reviews on either Guitar Center, Musicians Friend and sometimes on Harmony Central.

I haven't personally sat down at any shop to really "test" any amplifiers out, I try to sample as much "sounds" online that I can. I realize that this will truly only give me a basic idea. As the effects and type of pickups I run in my guitars will change the tone along the way.

I understand pretty clearly the difference between solid states and tubes as far as the "loudness" is concerned dealing with the wattages. What is not clearly stated on these forums is what levels of wattages are suggested for what setting (bedroom, small venue, large venue, concert hall, stadium, etc). My 40-watt Peavey is more than enough for my bedroom, but what about a small venue? I never turn the pre and post gains up past half. More than that is too much for my condo.

I am all about buying used gear when I feel it's justified over spending mad cash on something brand new. So, I've been scouring ebay for solid state and tube heads. I am looking to take my playing to another level in the next two years and preparing to play with a group down the road. I like the idea of a head with a 2x12 cab.

I am becoming more interested in my tone. I have a feeling that at this crossroads if I do not buy a tube unit, I'm going to kick myself. But, JUST how much better is a tube unit over a solid state, provided you buy the right gear?