So I've looked at a bunch of amp schematics but they all have shitloads of resistors and capacitors and stuff like that. Is there any way I can build a really simple head with only a volume control and an on/off and standby switch?
The thing I'm after is VOLUME and LOUDNESS, non of that hi-tech crap just the most simple amp without any EQ controls.
I do understand most of the symbols on schematics so I'm not a total noob at this.
in short, you could, but it would suck. The eq is what shapes your tone, without it you would sound like a crappy midwestern christian punk band, and we all know how bad they sound.
Out here you've gotta know where your towel is!
Yeah, what ValoRhoads said, there wouldn't be much point, you're tone would suck big time.
Ibanez SR505
Ashdown ABM 300 EVO II
Epifani UL410
im sure there is a way to build something like that, it would basicly be like the epi valve junior. but it sounds like you want more volume than what 5w tube is going to get you. problem is, power gets expensive and is going to take a lot of components to build. you are going to need capacitors to at least make sure your signal is running correctly and you will need resistors to bias everything correctly. it is impossible to build a decent amplifier with almost no resistors or capacitors.

there are a bunch of amp schematics here, which i suggest you look through and see if there is something simple enough for you.
Quote by DehumanizeR
So I've looked at a bunch of amp schematics but they all have shitloads of resistors and capacitors and stuff like that. Is there any way I can build a really simple head with only a volume control and an on/off and standby switch?
The thing I'm after is VOLUME and LOUDNESS, non of that hi-tech crap just the most simple amp without any EQ controls.
I do understand most of the symbols on schematics so I'm not a total noob at this.