Hi guys, I play in a metal band, and i've been playing bass for 8 months now. It's a Hartke bass from a pack and i like it, i was just planning ahead about getting my next bass.

So I thought maybe my next bass could be a five string, which are used a lot in metal. So has anyone got any comments about the transition from 4 to 5 strings. What is the spacing like, the size of the neck is bigger surely? Did you/ do you use your 5th string and do you recommend switching?

Much appreciated,

Bullet
signature
Bullet, if you really want to get a new bass, have a look at the Ibanez site as a few of their 5-strings has the same spacing. Personally though, I'd get a bigger amp of your own
I used to use a fiver, and I found it alright. The neck's a bit bigger, and the string spacing is a bit tighter, but people may prefer that.

I mainly used the B for tapping and droning notes, but also used it for the low end provided.

It's pretty hard in the beginning, but eventually you can play 4, 5, or 6 without a problem.

I'd wholeheartedly recommend it.
Quote by Chimpy101
Bullet, if you really want to get a new bass, have a look at the Ibanez site as a few of their 5-strings has the same spacing. Personally though, I'd get a bigger amp of your own

ha ha yes, I think i will definately prioritise getting a better amp first! But 5 string basses intrigue me.
signature
I'd go and play a load and see what feels comfortable. I changed to 5 not long ago and it's great. But if it isn't for you, it's better to find that out before shelling out for a new bass!

How come there are so many guys from Devon in the bass forum now?
Most 5-strings have smaller spaces between strings, making it harder to slap and pop if you do that. When I got my 5 it took a little while to get used to but I'm fine with it now, though i rarely use the low B, so make sure you will use it before you buy it.
Quote by smb
How come there are so many guys from Devon in the bass forum now?