I tried using the search button but didn't find anything that satisfied me.

Anyways, I've been playing for about 2 years now and I want to learn how to shred despite the fact that I don't listen to the genres that use shredding and I'm alt-picking challenged.

The main stuff I play are Muse, Radiohead, the Strokes, and Weezer.

Any tips on shredding or alt-picking? Or any songs for n00b wannabe shredders to learn (something simple and easy to warm me up to the genre)?
Don't learn how to shred and show off. Learn how to create music and improvise - since that is what the guitar is for. And for God's sake, 2 years and still playing covers?

But if you must know, learn scales. Lots of scales - every single not on the fretboard for each scale (Not just the box scales where you stay in one position and go up and down). Do so, and play them really fast. Sweeping arpeggios, tapping and all sorts of legatos, and heavy bending are essential as well.
Quote by Kensai
I know a good joke:

Women's rights.
Quote by Chubbychunks
I know a good joke:

Kensai's life.
Last edited by Dimebag Dave at Mar 19, 2007,
alt-picking is all in how you hold the pick dude, just try some different methods until you can find one that will allow you to not play fast, but to play constant and in tempo
I've been playing 2 years but it's been really on and off because of school (maybe just a couple of hours of playtime a week). I've been learning scales but I just can't get that speed, and I'm not trying to do it to show off, it's just so I can prove to myself that I can do it/getting comfortable and confident with the guitar... like I said, I'm not really into the shredding thing. Maybe just more serious practice?
look up michael angelo batio's lessons in Guitar World every month. his lessons will probably help you with everything you mentioned.