Page 1 of 2
I went to my local music store today and met the Taylor GS spruce/maple. In all honesty it is the best sounding and playable acoustic i've ever tried and i've tried many. I'm pretty new to maple woods, but is the back and side solid wood?
Also, i kno that FlatLander has this guitar, so any pointers or things to watch out for would be very appreciated
Matic - it's all solid wood. I played all the Taylors and I thought the GS beat them all. I had been playing the rosewood model at GC, but ended up with the maple - it's a touch brighter in tone, so if you like that bright sound, this is the way to go. I honestly couldn't be happier with this guitar... I'd say go for it!! (and then post pics! )
FlatLander, you dont understand how happy i was with the results. It's plays better than any guitar i kno. The action and playability was outstanding. Also, i was so suprised that the low's were so bassy and i loved it. Thanx for telling me it's all solid to. Im buying tommorow!
Its right beside me. The beauty is unbelievable. The tone is mouth dropping. I love it in every way. Now my question is, how do i find out the humidity level with that peice of paper?

I will post pictures as soon as my camera recharges.!
Congrats!! Not sure about the humidity - I run a humidifier in my house in the winter and keep an overall eye on it, but it's not something that I go nuts over - perhaps this will come to bite me down the line, but my guess is that it's like everything else; don't expose your guitar (or anything else) to extremes over long periods of times and take overall good care of them, and they'll do fine.

Looking forward to pictures.
k, thanx for the help. Im looking forward to showing it. Also, i got a lifetime warranty so... dont really have to worry about anything that much . Even the case amazed me. It's like Snake skin or something. i <3 it
Proud Owner of a 2006 Taylor GS Big Leaf Maple/ Sitka Spruce