I have wanted a Rickenbacker for quite a while now and I was prepared to save up $1000 to buy one. However, the price went up to over $1200 recently and I have decided that I shouldn’t spend that much on a single guitar right now. I’m a college student and I also want to start putting a project studio together over the next couple of years so I’ll probably have to wait until after college to get the Ric.

I would still like another guitar to tide me over until then though. I have one guitar with humbuckers and one with P-90’s so I think that I’m gonna get a strat next. My amp is a Peavey Classic 50 and I’ll be using the guitar for garage rock, punk and blues.

My budget will be about $700 and I am willing to go used but I’d like to spend less if possible.

As long as the guitar has single coils the pickups don’t matter much seeing as I’ll probably swap them out eventually. The most important thing for me is the neck shape, I don’t want something thin or flat. I would prefer a V profile but a U or nicely rounded C would be okay as well. So far I’m leaning toward the MIM Classic 50’s because I liked the neck shape a lot when I played it, but I feel like I’d be spending an extra $200 just for the neck profile so I‘d like to see what else is available. I’ve noticed people saying good things about Carvins and G&L, can anybody tell me what their necks are like?

I’m open to any suggestions if you think that another kind of guitar would be better for me.

Last bit- the MIM Mustang has caught my eye, any insight on it would be appreciated because I haven’t seen it in any shops.
Quote by CowsWithGuns
And the facade of heterosexualism in the punk and ska forum came crashing down like a fat girl falling off a balcony...