I've had my acoustic guitar since Christmas and haven't played it very often. I know most of the basic chords and can strum(with a pick) and fingerpick a bit. All I've been doing is trying different songs, and finding them too hard and moving on to other songs. I feel like I'm getting no where, and I could use a sense of direction.
So.... if someone could tell me what kind of things I could practice, that would be great.
I would say scales. Make sure you always play alternate picking. My teacher in highschool just wanted us to learn easy stupid songs like hush little baby and I'm kind of pissed at him now because he never mentioned that stuff and now I have to try to get alternate picking engrained in my head even though I've been playing for 5 years or so.

And, be honest with how good you are. Don't try to play stuff that is too hard or you will get frusterated and stop playing. I (and many others) learned by starting with Blink 182 songs because they are easy and you will get confidnece because you shouldn't mess up much because they aren't hard. Many people here don't think so, but I think there songs are cool and if you can play stuff that you like it makes playing more fun and you will want to do it.
If you're up to it, Blackbird by the Beatles is always a good tune to learn; fingerpicking song but shouldn't be too hard to learn.
I break it down into specific parts of songs. Usually the parts i think are easiest first. it takes a bit longer but i like my overall results. i pick alot better then i strum chords so I go with that first. I do scales every night. Changing chords effectively is what's holding me back. It's a hit or a miss most of the time. I'm gonna work on that for a week straight before i try any other songs then the ones i'm working on.
hah yea, blackbird, i remember learnin that 1.

Dust in the wind by Kansas is a good 1 too, travis style picking. once u get it down u will sound pro even tho it is easy as hell.

-B-
"TONE ADDICT"