I am fairly new to electric guitar, just learning to solo using pentatonic scales, etc. I have noticed that really good players keep their fingers really low to the fretboard and hardly move their fingers at all. My fingers really jump high. They basically know where to go due to massive repitition but i am concerned that I am deveoping a bad habit but I just cant seem to keep them low. Any ideas or drills that i can do? Has anyone had this problem and conquered it?
Play scales and chromatics very slowly, concentrating on your finger movements, eventually they will stay low automatically.
My name is Andy
Quote by MudMartin
Only looking at music as math and theory, is like only looking at the love of your life as flesh and bone.

Swinging to the rhythm of the New World Order,
Counting bodies like sheep to the rhythm of the war drums
Quote by Ænimus Prime
Play scales and chromatics very slowly, concentrating on your finger movements, eventually they will stay low automatically.

Well, I think you just hit a nerve w me. I have been trying to play fast but as you can imagine, it sounds all sloppy. Sometimes I hit a clean note but often, they're blurry. Maybe I could slow down eh? Thanks, great advice. Would love more, espeically drills.
http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/correct_practice/warm_ups_iv.html

These are from John Petrucci's Rock Discipline DVD, if you need a break from just scales.

The most important thing is that your movements are controlled, and for that you need to go slow.

I very strongly advise using a metronome or drum machine to play along with.
My name is Andy
Quote by MudMartin
Only looking at music as math and theory, is like only looking at the love of your life as flesh and bone.

Swinging to the rhythm of the New World Order,
Counting bodies like sheep to the rhythm of the war drums