Curious, I've only recently begun learning alternate picking, but I've been playing off and on for many years. At this point 145 is the max bpm at which I can play 16th notes cleanly. If you are interested, please post your max and the length of time you've been playing.

cheers!
I'm not sure about 16ths, but I know I can hit 16th note triplets at 120 bpm and I've been playing for just over 2 years I think.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Last edited by Zaphod_Beeblebr at Apr 18, 2007,
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
I'm not sure about 16ths, but I know I can hit 16th note triplets at 120 bpm and I've been playing for just over 2 years I think.

isn't 16th note triplets when you hit 6 notes per beat? if so, that's pretty fast, at 12 notes per second.
Yeah, something like that, I think I can get flight of the bumblebee up to about 160 bpm, but I'm not sure, I haven't measured myself on that, I suppose I should be able to go faster, but I don't really care about flight of the bumblebee anyway.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
16th triplets @ 120bpm is the same speed as 16th notes @ 180 .. which is very good!

As for me, I've been playing for a year and I can play 16th notes @ 90bpm
Note: Sorry if my grammar and/or vocabulary isn't very good, English is my 2nd language!

Quote by Resiliance
you show me yours and I'll show you mine!

If you're wondering where I've been gone, click here!