Just Giver
Wannabe RockStar
Join date: May 2007
144 IQ
#1
Hey guys, I am just wondering if there is anyway to turn your computer into an AMP? Via some sort of USB device hopefully? I'd like to use my speaker setup, I will be using this for an acoustic guitar, as well as a mic.
poipoi
UG's Bio-Engineer
Join date: Apr 2007
1,026 IQ
#2
i think you have USB-cables who can fix that job, but you'll have to make sure that your speakers are good ones, i've heard that it can sound real crappy...
sashki
Join date: Feb 2005
6,579 IQ
#3
you can get one of those Line 6 things that convert your guitar signal into a digital one.

You can also get Amp Farm or Amplitube plugins for recording software like Cubase, to emulate guitar amps.
Hoppusorange
Banned
Join date: May 2007
276 IQ
#4
i just plugged my guitar into the microphone jack. And yes, they do sound like ████...
Yngwi3
UG's Tone & Grammar Nazi
Join date: Jan 2006
1,292 IQ
#5
Quote by sashki
you can get one of those Line 6 things that convert your guitar signal into a digital one.


That's called a Spider
Quote by Pookie6
Yngwi3, You win this whole monstrosity of a thread.

Quote by uk.mace
For the best tingle, use Original Source mint. That shit feels amazing on your balls.


Godfather of The Diezel Mafia
DuckyPower
Banned
Join date: May 2007
60 IQ
#6
Quote by Yngwi3
That's called a Spider



haha i thought the exact same thing.
Deviant1853
3rd Eye Open
Join date: May 2007
298 IQ
#8
I use Freeamp 2 along with Mini-host. Everything you need is here:

Freeamp 2: http://www.kvraudio.com/get/2426.html
Mini-host: http://www.tobybear.de/p_minihost.html
ASIO4ALL: http://www.asio4all.com/

Freeamp is the VST plugin, mini host is the program that hosts the VST plugin, and it requires a ASIO driver and thats ASIO4ALL. For a free setup they work brilliantly

It doesnt require any external system but I am not certain how useful it will be for an acoustic guitar.
Yngwi3
UG's Tone & Grammar Nazi
Join date: Jan 2006
1,292 IQ
#9
Quote by Don_Humpador
That's called crap

...? I think you misunderstood the joke
Quote by Pookie6
Yngwi3, You win this whole monstrosity of a thread.

Quote by uk.mace
For the best tingle, use Original Source mint. That shit feels amazing on your balls.


Godfather of The Diezel Mafia
Don_Humpador
UG Monkey
Join date: Mar 2007
224 IQ
#10
Quote by Yngwi3
...? I think you misunderstood the joke


Then explain.

You said it was a Spider, and I said the Spider was crap.
Just Giver
Wannabe RockStar
Join date: May 2007
144 IQ
#12
Hey guys thanks for all of the responses,

I have http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/products/details/US/EN,CRID=2177,CONTENTID=9486 these speakers. They are pretty good, but I'm not sure if they are good enough for a guitar?

So out of all of the options, I am assuming some sort of external device would be a good idea... does anyone know of a mixer that can plug into USB? Or something else? (Maybe a full mixer is overkill?)

Thanks soo much!
Reincaster
Call me Rein.
Join date: Mar 2007
461 IQ
#13
Quote by Just Giver
Hey guys thanks for all of the responses,

I have http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/products/details/US/EN,CRID=2177,CONTENTID=9486 these speakers. They are pretty good, but I'm not sure if they are good enough for a guitar?

So out of all of the options, I am assuming some sort of external device would be a good idea... does anyone know of a mixer that can plug into USB? Or something else? (Maybe a full mixer is overkill?)

Thanks soo much!


Not off the top of my head, but there are lots of mixers with usb, from alesis and behringer.
Peavey 5150
Mesa Mark IV
Mesa Single Rectifier (Series 1)
Fender Custom Shop Tonemaster
Roland Microcube

-Whitebox OS 1x12
-Port City OS 1x12

Digidesign Eleven RackAxe Fx Ultra
Just Giver
Wannabe RockStar
Join date: May 2007
144 IQ
#14
Im also looking to setup time coded vinyls, so I'm not sure if this has any relevance. But I will be buying a 4X4 pro external audio card. I'd also like to plug a mic in.

Thanks for the suggestions
haz_uk
UG's Tremonti
Join date: Dec 2005
415 IQ
#15
Quote by Yngwi3
That's called a Spider


no...that's called a toneport. clever dick.
EpiPaul
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2007
133 IQ
#17
guitar - effects pedal w/wo turned on, current still goes to pickups - to microphone jack of computer then go to volume control of you have it and select unmute of microphone - or you can just plug the cord from your external speakers into the output of the pedal. this is the way i do it. even though i have an amp lol...
plankermaxx
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2007
411 IQ
#18
Quote by Yngwi3
That's called a Spider


LOL some brilliant reactions to that
Legra
RMC Wizard Wah
Blackstar DistX
Modded SD1
Phase 90
ZVex Fuzz Factory
WH4
Laney VC30 112
Roland MicroCube
YouTube!
Irishman of the Laney Cult
Just Giver
Wannabe RockStar
Join date: May 2007
144 IQ
#19
Quote by EpiPaul
guitar - effects pedal w/wo turned on, current still goes to pickups - to microphone jack of computer then go to volume control of you have it and select unmute of microphone - or you can just plug the cord from your external speakers into the output of the pedal. this is the way i do it. even though i have an amp lol...

do you notice any loss of quality?
sam i am
psychedelic peace warrior
Join date: Dec 2005
3,010 IQ
#20
I posted this in another thread, and I'll post it again

Yeah, tis possible with any pedal that can be used as a preamp.

All you need to do is get a 1/4 inch - 2.5mm lead (guitar jack size to headphone jack size).

Plug the output from you pedal into the line in of your soundcard (it should be the blue one).

Then on windows volume control or your soundcard's volume control go to play back and make sure that "line in" is turned on and the volume is up. You will then hear it coming through speakers, even when you're not running any programs.

You can also use this method to record if you don't have a decent mic, just select "line in" as in the input device on whatever software you use.

Hope that was a help.
Yngwi3
UG's Tone & Grammar Nazi
Join date: Jan 2006
1,292 IQ
#21
Quote by Don_Humpador
Then explain.

You said it was a Spider, and I said the Spider was crap.


Quote by sashki
you can get one of those Line 6 things that convert your guitar signal into a digital one.




Quote by haz_uk
no...that's called a toneport. clever dick.


I was making a joke... "clever dick"

Quote by sashki
I am very offended.


good good

Quote by plankermaxx
LOL some brilliant reactions to that


Haha yeah, blatantly obvious jokes seem to pass over the heads of youths today

Quote by Pookie6
Yngwi3, You win this whole monstrosity of a thread.

Quote by uk.mace
For the best tingle, use Original Source mint. That shit feels amazing on your balls.


Godfather of The Diezel Mafia
ScoRnoS
Registered User
Join date: May 2007
21 IQ
#22
One thing I've seen before is this thing called stealthplug.. look it up

stealthplug.com
beckyjc
Replace the fuse mann.
Join date: Oct 2005
1,306 IQ
#23
Just stick it into the mic/line in jack.
It'll sound like ass unless you have a good speaker/sound card system.
Also latency presents an issue. But can also be solved with a good sound card.
Reincaster
Call me Rein.
Join date: Mar 2007
461 IQ
#24
Quote by beckyjc
Just stick it into the mic/line in jack.
It'll sound like ass unless you have a good speaker/sound card system.
Also latency presents an issue. But can also be solved with a good sound card.


Yes, and blow your card, good job.
Peavey 5150
Mesa Mark IV
Mesa Single Rectifier (Series 1)
Fender Custom Shop Tonemaster
Roland Microcube

-Whitebox OS 1x12
-Port City OS 1x12

Digidesign Eleven RackAxe Fx Ultra
mingles
I am beautiful
Join date: Oct 2002
864 IQ
#25
arent those podxt things able to do this?
Read my post. Not this.
Adam144
Jizz In My Pants.
Join date: Mar 2007
273 IQ
#26
Quote by Reincaster
Yes, and blow your card, good job.


Well, no, not really.

I plug my guitar into my sound card directly with no problems at all. Even coming from my amp on the OD channel with volume turned up.. no problems.

Still sounds like ass though, even on my X-Fi XtremeMusic card. No latency problems though because with Creative's ASIO driver you can change the latency. I have mine set to 5ms atm
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser FR <3
Reincaster
Call me Rein.
Join date: Mar 2007
461 IQ
#27
Quote by Adam144
Well, no, not really.

I plug my guitar into my sound card directly with no problems at all. Even coming from my amp on the OD channel with volume turned up.. no problems.

Still sounds like ass though, even on my X-Fi XtremeMusic card. No latency problems though because with Creative's ASIO driver you can change the latency. I have mine set to 5ms atm


Yes, but the unbalanxed resistance will slows churn your card to bits over time. You don't want voltage spikes and extraneous current to ruin your card.

It may be fine using line in, but the mic input is not suitable, they are completely different inputs.
Peavey 5150
Mesa Mark IV
Mesa Single Rectifier (Series 1)
Fender Custom Shop Tonemaster
Roland Microcube

-Whitebox OS 1x12
-Port City OS 1x12

Digidesign Eleven RackAxe Fx Ultra
KissingShadows
Banned
Join date: Apr 2006
914 IQ
#28
Quote by Yngwi3

Haha yeah, blatantly obvious jokes seem to pass over the heads of youths today



You're 16.

Try out one of those Line 6 Toneports (I think),

I played one at a friend's house and while they do sound kinda thin, they do what you are looking for, I believe.

I think Into Eternity recorded their last two albums' guitar parts with one of those...
xifr
Master of the Penguins
Join date: Aug 2004
1,067 IQ
#29
Yeah, tis possible with any pedal that can be used as a preamp.

All you need to do is get a 1/4 inch - 2.5mm lead (guitar jack size to headphone jack size).

Plug the output from you pedal into the line in of your soundcard (it should be the blue one).

Then on windows volume control or your soundcard's volume control go to play back and make sure that "line in" is turned on and the volume is up. You will then hear it coming through speakers, even when you're not running any programs.

You can also use this method to record if you don't have a decent mic, just select "line in" as in the input device on whatever software you use.

Hope that was a help.

Bolded for emphasis, you need a preamp of some kind or it will have nearly no volume. If your amp has an effects loop you can plug into your amp and take the effects loop send into the direct in of your computer.
"A wise man once said, never discuss philosophy or politics in a disco environment." - Frank Zappa
Quote by Jinskee
Don't question the X.
<Frenchy> I'm such a failure
gsr2k6
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2005
1,057 IQ
#30
Best way would be get a mfx processor and run it usb in, it will sound great.
TwoString
AKA Chad
Join date: Jul 2006
1,601 IQ
#31
Crap, if I only had the link....

I remember seeing several guys building their guitar rigs around the Mac Mini when it first came out. I think they were running several effects programs and re ampers live. Their racks were outfitted with a small audio interface and a couple of SS power amps. To control the effects and patches real time they were using MIDI pedalboards and wireless keyboards/mice and had 7" LCD screens on the front of their racks and on the surface of their pedalboards. It was pretty interesting...anything you could do in a studio as far as digital processing they could pull it off live.
Yngwi3
UG's Tone & Grammar Nazi
Join date: Jan 2006
1,292 IQ
#32
Quote by KissingShadows
You're 16


Good observation skill

your point?
Quote by Pookie6
Yngwi3, You win this whole monstrosity of a thread.

Quote by uk.mace
For the best tingle, use Original Source mint. That shit feels amazing on your balls.


Godfather of The Diezel Mafia
TehNez
UG Board King
Join date: Feb 2006
1,638 IQ
#33
Guitar Rig + Interface ftw.

And I got the Spider joke *shrugs shoulder*
Guitars:
Fender Standard Strat
Fender Deluxe Active Jazz Bass
Martin DX1

Amps:
Peavey Classic 50/212

Pedal Board:
Gator 8-Bus
Boss TU-2 Tuner
Digitech Bad Monkey
Ibanez CF7 Chorus/Flanger
ISP Decimator
Dual button footswitch
bgmacaw
Registered User
Join date: May 2007
21 IQ
#34
The way I do it is that I have a small Behringer mixer plugged into my computer's Line In plug. I plug in a modeling unit, pre-amp or a mike into the mixer. And that's all there is to it, other than getting the levels right across the board which can be tricky.