Hey guys, one of my freinds decided recently he wanted to learn the bass.
Alright well he can probably borrow an old bass from another friend of mine.
But what about amplifiers? I am a guitarist and have absolutely no idea what so ever what bass amplifiers that are good and wich bad.
I think he have around 2-300 dollars to use of. Now I am thinking would it be smarter to buy one of those multi effect boxes or is that only us guitarists that use them?

I would love to hear any ideas about what my friend should do from you guys

By the way he mostly wants to play metal..
The effects are really unnecessary for a budding bass player...if the bass player decides that they want to reach in that direction, then it would best be saved for later, in my opinion.

I, for one, have been playing for 5 years and I am trying to get my hands on something that will emulate Muse's tone.

But anyway.

He's better off spending the money on the amp that he needs; I'm sorry to say that I really am not a gear guy, and couldn't properly guide that decision. I just thought I'd offer that the effects are really a waste of money at this point in time.

Good luck!
Hmmm.... You'll want to have a minimum 100 watts to have in a band situation. Sadly you might need even more in a metal band with all the over-driven guitars and such. Your bass-buddy will more than likely have to spend more than $200-300 to get a good amp. If $300 is an absolute limit I would suggest a Fender Rumble 60.
Well the thing is just that he live in a very VERY small house. And with three other family members in that little house. I dont think they will be that pleased with him playing without headphones. And I know from my guitar playing that when you have to play with headphones and cant even afford a very great amplifier you are better off with a effect box that can emulate different types of amps.