im a soon to be bassist and am in the process of searching for a suitable bass. in my research i have come across the terms p bass and j bass but i dont know what they are. so what are they? do they affect the sound of the bass? how? can you provide examples of p and j basses please.
p bass and j bass is referring to the 2 of the most popular bass models in the world. The Fender Precision bass and Fender Jazz bass.

It could also refer to the pickup setups on other basses, named after their respective pickups on the fender models. somebody else can go into details of the sound as I lack adjectives to describe the audio/ not enough time using a Jazz
Fender MIJ Precision
bassicaly just different styles of bass guitar. p bass is named after the fender precision bass, and is pretty much the standard setup for a bass guitar. j style is similar, except they have different pickups and looks a little different. j styles are made for a more flat, jazz sounding bass. but you could use it for anything. go to your local store and ask about a good starting bass.

you should be able to pick up a decent standard bass (p style) for around $200 if you look around.
Fender Jazz bass:

Fender Precision Bass:

Most of the time you will hear the terms precision and jazz referring to pickups though because they both have different pickups as you can see from the picture.
Quote by Bumper
Looks like you had a big bowl of Downs Syndrome for breakfast.

Member of the Bass Militia, PM Nutter_101 to join

Lover of Ashdown? Join the Ashdown Army!
They differ in sound fairly greatly actually.

The P has a very punchy low end boom. A P is used mostly for that boomy rock sound but with a good EQ on your amp you can get quite a few tones out of it. All in all though a P excels at playing rock, metal, and sometimes jazz because of the smooth tone you can get with the tone knob rolled down.