Hey everyone. I did a search and nothing too relevant came up, so I'm sorry if I shouldn't be posting this, but I have a question.

I've been playing guitar for a few years now. I'm pretty OK, but I'm wanting to push myself by learning Necrophagist songs and soloing sometimes. Before I start doing this, I need to know if my picking technique is good. I economy pick all the time, but I just need to know if my hand positioning could be made better.

Are there any useful videos/articles that will help me? All the Youtube "beginner" lessons seem to concentrate on what half-steps are, etc.
Quote by WlCmToTheJungle
if ur going to play some american idiot stuff heres the settings:

Master Volume : 0
i dunno about the rest
That's hard to understand without pictures, but there's some good stuff written there.

Head over to the 80s/Shred/Prog forum and go to the technique thread if you want help.
Quote by Nick_
That's hard to understand without pictures, but there's some good stuff written there.

Yes it's good, but unfortunately it seems to have sent many down the garden path
trying to figure out the oscillation/Benson picking stuff. A wild Goose chase. And I
think he glosses over its limitations.

"Playing from the String". I've heard pros mention this every now and then. It was
also the subject of a couple of Guitar Principles newsletters. There's a lot going on
in picking you should be aware of and practice, but I'm now firmly convinced this
is the most important awareness to have in order to pick well on a consistent
basis.
That Tuck and Patti article is not that good, very hard to understand and very lengthy.

Im also concerned about my picking motion, as I fear as I get better, I will be limited to how fast I can play due to my technique that I have gotten used to. I find that my arm up to my elbow moves quite a lot, shaking as I pick fast. I saw Pettrucci play and he only uses his wrist movement, his arm is still.
Quote by Robbie n strat