I've been playing guitar for about 3 months now.. almost 4. I'm curious about a couple of things here. I'm still learning to do my first song, Hell's Bell's. It's been 3 months since I started learning it and... well should it take that long? For me? A beginner? I chose to take my time with it so I'd play it good, so occasionally each day I'd go, "Okay, I'll learn this part of the song now and practice till I'm good at it." and then when I play it good I move on to the other part, and then repeat.. since I started learning it I've drifted away from finishing it though cause I'm just learning riffs from other songs and stuff. I'm into the solo now and I'm having to break it down into parts to practice as always and when I'm done i'll piece it together, I've got the pre-solo down so far. So i'm wondering, is there a better way to do this? A faster way? Should I just learn all the parts of the song instead and practice it all together starting from complete crap to being good at it? Which way do you think is better at learning a song to just overall get better a guitar.

Did any of you guys start out the way i'm starting out? Thats my second question.

EDIT: By the way, don't say learn an easier song, I don't want my first song to me smoke on the water, I could probably learn that easily in a few days or less, it's not challenging!
Gear:
- G&L Tribute Series Legacy Guitar
- Behringer V-tone GM108 15-watt amp
Last edited by ScruffMcGruff at Jun 23, 2007,
get a teacher for the first year or so, it helps sooooo much and you learn 100s of times faster.
That's already being taking care of, I'm taking a guitar class for my next year of school. Thanks
Gear: