I am new to studying music theory, and so far I understand it all pretty well, but I do have a very basic question that is probably easy to answer. Why is the G Chord usually played as 3 2 0 0 0 3 and not 3 2 0 0 3 3? Major Chords are made using the 1 3 5 notes of the major scale. (G Major Scale - G A B C D E F# G) So since the B string has both the 3rd and 5th note on it, why does the open B take preference over the 3rd fret D? Or does it vary on what is used? Sorry if this is a real noob question, but that is what I currently am and help would be greatly appreciated.
-shrug- reason i can think of is because it's easier to play just the one fretted note on the high e than it is to play both on the b and e
lol but i know next to no theory so yeah
Satan isn't inside a guitar pick. He's in here. In our hearts. He's what makes us not want to go to work, or excercise or tell the truth. He's that little voice in your mind that says "Fuck you" to the people you hate.
I play it the second way =/
Seinfeld
The Gear:
Fender John Mayer Sig. Strat
Hughes & Kettner Edition Blue 60
Dunlop Crybaby
Ibanez Tubescreamer
Damn right, I've got the blues.
Using the B instead of G gives you another triad. Using the D leaves only 1 major third in the chord.

using 320003 gives you 1 3 5 1 3 5. As opposed to 1 3 5 1 5 1
Quote by Godzilla1969
I love you, Muphin. You have great taste in music.

Quote by Pacifica112J
Muphin > You

The Cooperation
people just find it easier to play 3 2 0 0 0 3

its just easier to play

but i've abandoned all open chords for barre chords anyways, so convenience isnt really something i care about

and the fact that you understand this theory is impressive. keep it up. it does wonders for you. and dont listen to all the famous players who tell you theory isnt important. like alexi laiho tells you that the theory stuff isnt used in metal right? well right in the middle of one of his solos he randomly inserts a circle of fifths. coincidence? i think not.