i have been playing acoustic for almost 6 months now and was going to get an electric soon and was wondering what is better for a person who likes all types of rock, but more on the lighter side. don't get me wrong, i like hard rock too, but not as much. should i get a fender standard stratocaster, or an epiphone les paul standard.

also, on the strat, on the site it says its a vintage tremolo, is that bad or something? also, is it the same as a floyd rose? or are floyd rose guitars really expensive. thanks in advance,
The Strat will probably suit you better if you like less hard stuff.

Fender's Vintage tremolo is nothing like a Floyd Rose. They are much less complicated and far less useful. It's not bad, but it will hold a tune just fine, and you can remove the arm and basically treat it like a fixed bridge if it gets in the way.

MIM Standards are not as bad as most people would like you to believe. Mine's pretty cherry.

Do yourself a favor and don't order online though. Go in to a store. Epi LP Standards and MIM Standard Strats are two things Guitar Centers ALWAYS have.
Try them out yourself. When you narrow it down to only two guitars, it all comes down to personal opinion.
FOR AWESOME HANDWOUND PICKUPS, CONTACT CorduroyEW
BOOBS
Quote by ratmblink123
Good for you. Have a cookie.

But really... there's no cookie. And if there was, you wouldn't get one.
Quote by tennisace
do they have them as leftys in the stores?

No doubt in my mind. The lefties won't be with the rest of the guitars, they'll all be grouped together on one end of the wall where they're all hanging.

Strats and Les Pauls, being the two most recognizable body styles in existence, are always in Guitar Centers. Just go in and look around, and there you go.