I'm planning to get an acoustic guitar sometime soon. I'm thinking of something like the yamaha FG700S or the Yamaha F335. I played these two at a local Guitar Center, and i personally liked the sound of the F335 more, but from what i read, the Fg700S is just a better guitar. I'm still new at guitar (only played a few months), so i guess i haven't developed an ear for tone yet. Right now, im leaning towards the FG700S, since it has a solid top.

Any suggestions for acoustics around 200 dollars?
I know the Yamaha F310 is great
Quote by Dirtydeeds468
People don't like Dave Mustaine because he created something that owned Metallica in just about every single aspect of thrash metal.

it's true
i picked up an oscar schmidt about 6 months ago, not a bad guitar and it was only $120, i think washburn makes em
“I used to be made fun of because I’d stay alone at home on weekends and play the guitar, but once I got good on the guitar, I got all the pussy I wanted"-EVH

Schcter C-1 Classic - Emg 81/85 @ 18 Volts
Peavey Valveking 112
Line 6 POD XT Live
i like my jasmine by takamine, its a good little picker for about 160 bucks

Must Not Sleep.

Must Warn Others.

Gear:
Gibson Special Faded SG
Orange Tiny Terror (Combo)
MXR Carbon Copy Delay
Dunlop Crybaby Wah

3DS friend code: 3995-7035-3562
I know for sure that the Takamine Jasmine doesnt have a solid top and I'm rpetty sure the other ones dont except for the FG700S which has a solid spruce top. And IMO (talking from experience) its just not worth getting something with a laminate top.

Go for the FG700S. Should last you longer and they are a fantastic guitar
i agree with johnos here. the fg700s is really hard to beat for $200. the only way to really get a better guitar for the money would be to try and find something used.
What exactly is the advantage a solid top has over a laminate top? I still dont understand what a solid top does better than laminate tops.
If you want a really simple answer: