So this summer, i'm working at about $250 per week, so i'm gonna try to build a guitar. I only have $500 now on me, but i'm waiting for about 6 paychecks of $500 or so . I anticipate that many of the teenagers here are really bored from summer, like me, so here's the intro/story...

I'm an amateur Blues/Classic Rock guitarist, loving Fender Stratocasters, but for the love of Classic Rock tone, I always wanted a Les Paul with humbuckers. However; as most of you know, Strats have really skinny necks, that people either love, or hate. I really hate the concept of HSS strats, with humbucker in the bridge position. I think it's lame, and I want something that was kind of a Classic Rock Staple (definitely in this case, a Les Paul).

However; like me, strat users find it really difficult to move to another guitar with a fatter neck. Although, I thought it would be pricey, I really want a Les Paul style guitar. I've heard about Epiphones and Agiles, but they still have fat necks. I've tried various Epiphones and Gibsons at a local Guitar Center (5 mins away) and I found all of them way too fat for my hand. I play in the so-called "blues grip" that leave the thumb over the neck, which needs a skinnier fender-y neck to get comfortable with.

Then I went for Warmoth.com. They make custom necks that I really want, and the bodies that I really want. The neck won't be too thick, from the massive reading/research I did from their website. I've picked some specs, put it together, and calculated some prices. I also got some stuff off other vendors for cheaper more quality plates, jacks and such.

Specs and Prices:
Warmoth.com
Warmoth Les Paul Neck
-25.5" scale
-Warmoth "Pro" Construction $229.00
-Les Paul Peghead Shape
-Right Hand
-Neck Wood: Mahogany
-Fingerboard: Ebony
-Width of neck at nut: 1-5/8"
-Standard Thin Neck Contour
-Gotoh/Grover tuner holes
-Fretwire: Nickel/Silver 6105
-Inlay: Trapezoid $90.00
-Neck Binding: Cream $110.00
-White Corian Nut $25.00