I have been playing guitar for 5 and a half years
Started football shortly after so all my time and money go toward that. I haven't been able to buy great stuff. Likewise, I was only able to take lessons for a year and a half. Most of my time, aside from football, goes toward practicing my guitar. And I have still improved greatly thanks to the internet with youtube and of course ultimate guitar. However I am at a crossroad. I want to take more lessons and spend a lot of time playing guitar. I have 2 guitars:
Di Giorgio Amazonia classical from 1975 (It's my mom's but she never uses it)
and it is getting old and starting to crack because it wasn't taken care of properly and we live in Arizona so...

and I have a BC Rich metal master gay crap pack. Out of my options of starting guitars this was my best option (and I won't lie, I think the shape looks cool) but the bridge is starting to rise out of the body the frets are getting worn and there really is only so much you can do with a piece of crap. If you put sugar and sprinkles on a piece of crap it will still taste like crap. And whats worse.... Now it's an old piece of crap

My amp is a crate FXT 65 decent for the price
Loud enough to be heard over drumbs, but even that goes only so far

I have thought it out hard and I have decided that a new guitar is what i need first.

Now my options are open but it takes time for me to earn money because with football and summer school and camps and ...... well that's most of my day and that leaves no time for a job and I go off of 3-5 hours a sleep already.

Right now I have about 600 that I can spend.
I really like the sound of les pauls and my absolute favorite band is the Goo Goo Dolls (they are amazing live because they started this years tour in AZ)
I love their sound. I don't limit myself to them.

I was thinking of a taylor acoustic electric (Guilds are too expensive)
Epiphone Elitists are decent but the shops don't have them in 'round here