I'm looking to upgrade to a new bass after having played for 3-4 years on my cheap stagg. I have looked over the internet and the Warwick corvette $$ and American p bass seem to stand out and are both around the right price range. If anyone has any advice on which one to get or want to suggest a different bass of around that price I would much appreciate it. (price anything around 1,400$)
oh god..... the corvette dude.... i wouldnt even blink about such a choice (for me at least)...

by the way, what kinda music do you play?
Look at Lakland and Musicman basses as well for that price range. And don't forget Rickenbacker.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
the corvette $$ is one hot ass bass. it has beautiful tone and handles beutifully. i love it. and i only got to play it once!
Member of the Neutral Milk Hotel club PM Hamish5178 to join~
The Special Ed kid of the bass militia. PM DinkyDaisy to join

Quote by fourstringpunk
She looks like an STD vending machine.
Those are two very very different basses. I own an American P-Bass and am not a fan of warwick basses but I will try and be unambiguous here. They would both suit metal/heavy rock styles very well, THE classic rock tone is a precision bass strung with flats but the corvette is much more versatile but that is not to say the precision bass is a one-trick pony. The warwick has a deep growl whereas the precision bass has a very middy punch.

Both have fat necks, the warwick I have found to have a little less radius on the fingerboard than the precision.

The warwick is very ergonomically designed and from my experiences they both sit well on a strap.

I play loads of different styles from metal to jazz and my precision bass will fit into any of them fine. I have played a corvette and I found it had a much more "modern" sound to it.