Is it wrong to just play tabs, and not chords? or to even completely avoid chords? just wanted to kno, cuz I don't like having to remember stuff, tabs arent that hard to remember,but chords....u have to learn the letters, and all that fun stuff(sarcasm), and it makes me really queasy thinking about it, don't kno why...if it helps any(don't think it will, but just in case) I like to play a lot of old skool green day and pennywise, and I have been playing for about 3 months, and am almost to the point where I can play rhythme guitar without much difficulty, but yet without much ease either
My guitars:

Ibanez RG5EX1
Eleca Dread Acoustic
Dean ML

My FX: Line 6 Floor POD Plus

In the end, fact means nothing,
its all about perspective
trust me...you need chords for every kind of music...even the ****ty ones like Green Day
I started without learning chords, big mistake. Learn basic chords Eg, C D A G E then learn minors then move onto barre chords. it will improve you playing.

ESP LTD MH-350NT
Hughes & Kettner Switchblade 100
Orange PPC412AD
Seagull S6 Cedar Slim
Manuel Rodríguez C1M

Guitarist of Ravenage
Drummer of Windrider
Solo Project is Aloeswood
Completely ignoring chords is possibly the worst thing any musician can do. Pianists and bassist included. They really are the music. You will learn more from one chord progression than you will from 10 tabs.
its school

and...i don't think music like that requires chords at all...so why bother with it...

but you hopefully will discover real music eventually which requires chords and scales and modes and so on
so LEARN YOUR CHORDS
if you plan on listening to some music some time soon

Whodicted

Quote by stevo_epi_SG_wo
france is laaaaame

Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2009
learn the chords...that's what i did

and yeah, it's helpful to any musician. i started out playing piano for like 5-6 years, and when i switched to guitar and learned chords, it made my piano playing a lot better.