Hi I'm just a begining guitarist and I'm ready to perform some solos, but I'm not real sure on how I should go about it. I know alot of artists use pedals for their solos. Does this make it easier? Also any simple techniques to get me started would be great. Thanks, I'm sorry if this thread has been done a million times but I need to know how to do a proper solo if I'm going to progress.
You might want a distortion pedal to make the guitar come out a little more, but you dont NEED any pedals.

EDIT: Maybe a delay too.
Pedals make everything better if you know how to use them. If you suck with them though, just stay away. You don't really need pedals for a good solo, really depends on what you aim for. And if you're just beggining, work on your scales and stuff before even thinking about pedals.
Gear
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Washburn Acoustic
Jay Turser Bass
Panasonic SX-KC211 Keyboard
BOSS DS-2 Turbo Distortion
BOSS AW-3 Dynamic Wah (Fixed!)
Roland Micro-Cube
Randall RB30XM Bass Amp
Tascam DP-01FX Digital Recorder
all it does is change the sound
MM Stingray
MIA P Bass
MIM Jazz Bass
GK 700RB-II Head
GK 410SBX Cab
Sansamp 3 Ch. DI
Crybaby Bass Wah
Bass Big Muff
DD3 Delay

MIA Strat
Nashville Tele
Martin 00015M
Hot Rod Deluxe
Big Muff
DS1
Hendrix Crybaby Wah
yeah distortion would be a plus since notes come out more and make them more audible, if you want to make some stuff stand out you could use a wah pedal ie eric clapton, jimi hendrix
Effect pedals just change the sound and add effects, hence the name. You don't need them at all. But for different sounds you could use pedals.
Gear:
Epiphone Les Paul Special II
Epiphone Studio 10 amp
Line 6 PodXT - Should've got the PodXT live
Click for charity.
cant go wrong with distortion
Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V

Marshall MG100HDFX
Marshall MA50C

Boss DS-1
Digitech RP50
Digitech Whammy IV
Vox V847 Wah Pedal
You don't need any pedals to perform solos unless you're doing RATM-kinda stuff. All you need is skills.