OK, I'll admit, I didn't do my research well enough. I picked up a Starcaster starter set, and yes, it's horrible. Mind you, I can't get a feel for just how bad it is given that much of the problem is my inexperience, but it in general feels shoddy. I also have no distortion on my amp, only Overdrive.

Anyways, I'm wondering what you would reccomend. My budget is fairly small, I can probably scrape $100 or so, maybe $200, and for the time being I'm thinking I'll probably just get myself a new, better guitar, and leave the amp as is.

I was going to look on Craig's List, but being a newb, I would have no idea what to watch out for, or if I should avoid it altogether. If that's the case, can you guys reccomend any good guitars in my price range?
get a roland micro cube amp it can make a piece of **** with strings sound good. usually most of the sound is from the amp not the insturment
IF your digging a new guitar, Is it cause you dont like the feel? Because tone is mostly from the amp.

But if a new Axe is what you desire, Just go into second hand shops, and pawn shops..
If you got it from Musician's Friend or Guitar Center, you have 45 or 30 satisfaction guarantee. But for that price, maybe a Dean MLX
"F*ck off with your sofa units and strine green stripe patterns, I say never be complete, I say stop being perfect, I say let... lets evolve, let the chips fall where they may." -

Tyler Durden
ibanez grg170dx, not the best guitar but still very nice, i really like that guitar, despite the fact that's a gio series one
overdrive is basically you distortion by the way... just stick with that guitar till you can scrape up 300 or so and you can probably find a real fender second hand, or a small used tube amp
Quote by Gibson_Rocker13
you are my new hero cause i do the exact same thing but i suck at it

#8 of the EHX USERS GUILD
Quote by SublimeGuitar
Orange Rocker 30. Best Marshall ever

epi firefly dsp 30, epi sg, big muff
olp five string, peavy max 158