So i was jamming with my friend whos been playing for awhile and knows what hes doing. We were trying to play freebird while i did the chords. He says i need to get better at staying on beat. I guess im not very good at playing with other people. I dont learn very much rhythm on my own. I dont really get the whole beat concept i guess. Do any of you have suggestions on how i could improve in this department.
"I have a large fridge at home and I've been eating alot of pork chops"
Metronome deffinatly, I had the worst timing of anyone I knew. I started practicing with a metronome, and I got so much better, I don't even practice with it regularly and it still helps so much. You don't even really need to play to it, you can just tap your foot with it and it'll still be beneficial, though you should probably play your guitar to it every once in a while at least. I can't stress enough the importance of using a metronome, if you use it properly it's like magic.
yeah play some scale using different note values ie quavers, semi quavers(8ths and 16ths) also it helps to play the songs you learn with a metronome, it is so vital, but yeah as said above it improves your rhythm so much, just don'y become too dependant on it. also have sometimes feel rhythm. another thing you could do is get the rockschool books they have compitions that use off beats and force you to play with a metronome
use a metronome, or a drum machine. the drum machine is nice because its more interesting, but the drums accent certain beats, so you might want to either work against the drum machine's accents, or just go with a metronome.
Im not very good at telling the beat of the song. So if i were to wanna use a metronome how do i know where to set it at and what not? Can there only be 4 beats in a measure? And like when you tap your foot, do you just tap to the beat on the song as 1,2,3,4 with the speed according to the beat or what?
Last edited by wHere_aM_i at Jun 29, 2007,
Okay. Here's the basics.