I've been playing for a year and two months-ish, and I'm a lot better at lead guitar than I am at rhythm guitar. I don't know why, and I don't know what to work on. My timing is good enough (it's something I could work on though), and I certainly know my chords.

I have no idea what I need to work on. My goal is to be as good at rhythm as I am at lead. Could someone recommend me some songs or exercises to work on?

Quote by cubedeathk

No my friends Dinosaurs walked this earth with Man.

Don't play rhythm. Start a one-guitar band where the bass and drums or even a piano keeps the rhythm.
Quote by Godzilla1969
I love you, Muphin. You have great taste in music.

Quote by Pacifica112J
Muphin > You

The Cooperation
Learn how to play drums. I played drums before starting with guitars, and it has given more rhythmic aspects to my playing.
Last edited by laodikea at Jun 29, 2007,
Truthfully, it isn't bad to listen to some mainstream rock to learn to use chord progressions for rhythm. I have no idea what that guy was talking about when he said that one shouldn't play rhythm, cause rhythm guitar should be mastered as well as lead. It is especially useful if you have a two guitarist band (like the one I am in) where you alternate between being lead and rhthym. For example, in one of our songs, I am defanently the rhythm during the verses, cause it is a simple sixteenth note progression of the verse chords, while I palm mute. But then, I unmute for the last measure, then pick slide into the chorus, where I do a fast arppegio alternate-picking riff (which sounds godly with the other guitarist playing the chorus progression). Plus, if you learn rhythm, you can learn about thing like harmonic chords and chord progressions (you can't write lead parts efficiently without knowing keys and what progression you are using), which really REALLY help lead.