hey guys,

i was wondering if you all could help me. i've been playing guitar for a couple years now, and i want to start learning the bass, so if you all could help me pick out some bass gear i'd very much appreciate it.

for the bass i was thinking just a fender precision or jazz..would that be good? i'd be playing mostly blues, rock, classic rock, jazz, etc. maybe so metal, but barely any. are there any other suggestions?

as for an amp im not really sure, i don't know much about bass amps...i was looking at fender bassman amp line. do you guys have any other suggestions? i dont know how much money i'll be able to spend, but im guessing around 400 dollars - 300 for the guitar and 100 or so for the amp. im not really concerned about having a great sound at this point, i just wanna learn how to play!

well that was kinda long...hope you guys can read it all....and thanks!
*removed*
Just get an ibanez starter pack for about $250, and upgrade as you see necessary.
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Your choice in basses sounds good. I've heard great things about both P and J basses, and since you're into those genres, a jazz bass would probably work great. Can't help you with the amp, though.

Also, please shrink your signature. It makes me want to punch nuns in the face.
fender jazz...by all means....fender jazz

even a squier jazz pack is decent, but if you have the money, stay away from that and stick to better amp/ bass

the bassman is not a bad line of amps, but they arent overly spectacular either...good for novice/intermediate players imo
Spend more money on the amp than the bass. A crappy bass will sound decent through a good amp, but a good bass will sound like crap through a cheap amp.
Fender Jazz with this amp.
Quote by DaveMustaine08
Quote by puppetmaster917
I think white people are better than black people.